The Rhode Island Statehouse
IN 1890 the General Assembly created a commission to obtain plans for a new State House, and on September 16, 1895, ground was broken for the construction of the building from the designs of Charles Follen McKim of the New York architectural firm of McKim, Mead & White. The cornerstone was laid October 15, 1896, while Charles Warren Lippitt was Governor, and in December 1900, the Secretary of State and his staff were the first to occupy offices. Early in 1901, other state officers and the General Assembly followed. On June 11, 1904 the new capitol building, terrace, approaches and grounds were officially turned over to the state by the architects and builders. The building, power house, connecting tunnel, furnishings and decorations cost $3,018,416.33, an astronomical figure for that day. However today's replacement value has been estimated in excess of $25,000,000.

Approximately 327,000 cubic feet of white Georgia marble, 1,309 tons of iron floor beams and 15,000,000 bricks were used in its construction. It boasts the second largest of the four famous unsupported marble domes in the world - the others being St. Peter's in Rome, the Taj Mahal in India and the Minnesota State Capitol. Standing atop the dome, 235 feet above the terrace, and 313 feet above mean high water mark, is the statue of the Independent Man. The building is 333 feet long and is 180 feet wide through the central vestibule section.
To Providence Pages
The Rotunda

The Senate Chamber

The House Chamber

Full Screen This is a large file, 1.4mb.